Screen Shot 2015-04-03 at 1.15.59 PM

Last May 29, 2012, Cong. Lucy Torres-Gomez joined her political party-mates at the Oriental Hotel in Palo, Leyte to witness the swearing-in of new members of the Liberal Party.

“The shift of many Leyte Provincial and Municipal Officials to the Liberal Party is a strong proof that the party is doing well in leading the nation to the the Daang Matuwid Program of Philippine President and Liberal Party Chairman Benigno S. Aquino III,” Cong Lucy said during an interview.

Screen Shot 2015-04-03 at 1.16.09 PM

After the swearing-in of new Liberal Party members, Cong. Lucy inspired her new party-mates by participating and speaking in the Basic Orientation Seminar on Liberal Democracy (BOSLD). “The Liberal Party is not an ordinary political party where you can just join and take advantage of your political membership. Being a Liberal Party member entails having the responsibility to always put the country above ourselves. The Liberal Party wants us to create a just and prosperous civil society anchored in an effective government and in an atmosphere of political openness,” Cong. Lucy said

Other attendees were DILG Secretary Jesse Robredo, Leyte Gov. Jericho Petilla, Former Leyte Gov. and now Palo Leyte Mayor Remedios Petilla, Vice-Gov. Mimiette Bagulaya, Leyte Civil Society Leader Dominic Petilla and officials from the towns of Kananga, Palompon, Isabel, Palompon, Matag-ob, and Merida.

The Liberal Party was founded in January 1946 by Philippine President Manuel A. Roxas. After the election victory of President Benigno S. Aquino III in 2010, the Liberal Party has become the ruling party in the Republic of the Philippines. The party members currently control the House of Representatives, the Senate, and key provinces & cities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *